Top 5 takeaways from my wine certification course

Wine & Spirits Education TrustI recently finished up the Intermediate Level of the Wine & Spirits Education Trust’s (WSET) certification course. What does that mean? I have made a habit of telling people who I now have a piece of paper that certifies my drinking habit. All kidding aside, I learned a lot from the course that I didn’t already know about the beverage industry. Many of the facts that were new to be were based on spirits – as I am not a spirits drinker – but I did also pick up some tidbits about wine that I did not already know. Here were the top 5 ‘surprises’ to me:

5. Glera is the real name of the grape used for Prosecco. Although, Prosecco is still the popular named used for the grape that produces Italy’s sparkler, Glera is the proper name.

4. Some inexpensive German ‘Rieslings’ are actually blends of the Riesling grape and another inexpensive German varietal – Müller-Thurgau. Some of these wines are even 100% Müller-Thurgau.

3. Per British standards, women should only consume 1-2 units of alcohol per day (equivalent to one, medium-sized glass); men 2-3 units per day (equivalent to one, large-sized glass).

2. Argentina has actually been producing large quantities of wine for hundreds of years. The reason for the increase of Argentinian wines in the U.S.? They recently just discovered that they can make money producing quality wines, not just ‘jug’ or inexpensive table wine.

1. Even after much reading and studying I have found that German wine labels still not only confuse me, but confuse me even more so after trying to understand them!

Posted on July 19, 2011, in Wine and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

